“Sucked out by the vacuum of space” Read my story!

Really Stephania,” Glenn sat down on the gray lounge chaise, “a spy?”

“What?”

He kept looking at her and started to unlace his sturdy black shoes. “That’s all you got… a spy? What in the world does that have to do with anything and what are we gonna say when he wakes up now?”

“I don’t know,” Stephania shrugged and sat up on the bed, “We’ll tell him about a mission, a special 007 one, you know, you’ve watched those stories…” She spun a blanket down over Ben2Times and watched him paw at the air dreamily. “He’s probably dreaming of one now lol…”

“Lol? Hmmm… sounds like someone’s been reading too many fantasy novels. Okay. First things first, I’m taking a nap next to 007 here and then we’re gonna come up with a better story… a real story.”

Glenn looked warily around the worn down motel room.  Bright sunlight was shining through the thin curtains now and it made the streaks on the walls and dents and knicks in the doors more noticeable.  “We gotta figure a way to get outta this dump Stephania…”

“I know Glen, I’m working on it.  Anyway, what was I supposed to tell him? We don’t even know-”

“You could try the truth.”

“The truth?!” Stephania jerked her head up and glared at him, “Are you crazy? Oh Ben, sorry, but it seems you keep popping up on our planet and we can’t figure it out and every time you leave there’s another copy or maybe it was already there… we’re really unsure about that part at this time and oh yeah.. we don’t even know what you are…”

“Hey Guys, whady’a doin?” Ben2Times popped his head in the door and looked around the room with a smile.

Glen slumped down on the edge of the bed and started rubbing his feet.

“Oh. just looking for my bag…” Stephania said and walked toward the bathroom door.

“Who’s that on the bed?”

“I don’t know, we just walked in… probably Jenny#7… hey where’s the sodas?” Stephania asked.

“What sodas?”

“I thought you were going down the hall to get some from the vending machine.  I’m super thirsty.” Stephania said and caressed her throat.

“No I was just taking a walk like I said.  You don’t remember? I said I was taking a walk to clear my head for awhile.” Ben2Times looked at her strangely.

“Oh yeah.”

He walked to the chaise and sat down. “Hey Glenn, listen man, we gotta talk about that money.”

“No, man, don’t worry about it.” Glenn said wearily as he stared out the window.

“No. It’s important.  It’s important to me.  It was your money and we took it and I want to make it right. It’s the right-“

“Ben!”

Stephania leapt from her stance by the bathroom door and grabbed his hands.  “Your hands!”

She turned them all around. “They’re hands!”

“Wha? What’s wrong with you?” Ben2Times jerked his hands back, “What else would they be?”

“Um…”

“Listen Stephania,” Ben2Times cleared his throat, “I saw a lot of other Stephanias out there on my walk last night, and it got me to thinking.” He looked at her gravely, “I’m starting to feel that we need a code word or something so I can be sure I’m dealing with the right Stephania when I am…. This planet… this planet is so fucked. I never know who is who and there’s about a thousand Stephanias, Smithanns, and now it’s even some Fitz’s rolling around out there saying “Very pleased to meet you and…”

“Wait,” Glenn interrupted as he pulled the blanket up over his shoulders, “Have you seen any Ben2Times out there with them?”

“Well, no.  If I did I would have a lot of questions, like, One-“

All of a sudden, Ben2Times shot up from the bed and stood in the middle of the room glancing wildly between Ben2Times and the others.

“Like why do you have hands?!” he screamed and ran screeching out the door.

Leave a Reply

